Revenue collection: Customs CG, Adeniyi bags presidential award

Revenue collection: Customs CG, Adeniyi bags presidential award,%20I’
From Our Correspondent

President Bola Tinubu, on Saturday, honoured the Comptroller-General of Customs (CGC), Adewale Adeniyi, with the outstanding Revenue Collection accolade.

President Bola Tinubu, on Saturday, honoured the Comptroller-General of Customs (CGC), Adewale Adeniyi, for outstanding Revenue Collection.

Faces of recipients of the Nigeria Excellence Awards in Public Service (NEAPS)

TheNewsZenith reports that Adeniyi received the honour during the Nigeria Excellence Award in Public Service (NEAPS) at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Vice President Kashim Shettima, who represented Tinubu, emphasised that the awards were about embedding a culture of recognition and reward in the public service ethos.

Shettima conveyed the president’s message that public institutions are not personal enterprises. He added that public servants are employees of the Nigerian people.

Earlier, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Sen. George Akume, urged the award recipients to continue their exemplary work.

Akume said award organisers chose the individuals and organisations based on objective criteria from the public and private sectors.

He welcomed attendees to the second edition of NEAPS, recalling that the first edition was held in October 2023.

SGF described NEAPS as an award recognising innovation, leadership and significant contributions to public service and the nation’s development.

Read Related News:

Customs FOU seizes rice, vehicles worth N2bn

Niger’s President honours on 4 Nigerian governors

Customs intercepts N4b illicit drugs at Tin Can port

Videos: Foundation, VON to collaborate on language translations

AFRIMA: AU writes Nigeria, South Africa to bid

He commended The Best Strategic (TBS) Media for organising the event in collaboration with the OSGF.

Among the 44 recipients of the NEAPS were Senate President Godswill Akpabio, Speaker of the House of Representatives Tajudeen Abbas and Chief of Staff to the President Femi Gbajabiamila.

Others are Deputy Chief of Staff to the President (Office of the Vice President) Sen. Ibrahim Hadejia, Gov. Bala Mohammed of Bauchi State and Gov. Seyi Makinde of Oyo State.

Also recognised are Gov. Dapo Abiodun, Ahmadu Fintiri, Abdullahi Sule, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq and Peter Mbah of Ogun, Adamawa, Nasarawa, Kwara and Enugu States respectively for their sector-specific interventions.

After the award, CGC Adeniyi affirmed its commitment to advancing Nigeria’s economy through revenue collection and trade facilitation.

He thanked God Almighty, the president, the SGF and NEAPS for the recognition.

“This national recognition is a challenge for the Service to double its efforts in making this country proud.

“It motivates public officials to dedicate themselves and perform diligently in office,” TheNewsZenith quoted Adeniyi as saying.


Do you have a flair for Citizenship Journalism? Share story(ies) of happenings in your area with TheNewsZenith on WhatsApp: 08033668669 or

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *