Tribunal: Judges dismiss petition against Gov. Makinde

Tribunal: Judges dismiss petition against Gov. Makinde

The Oyo State Governorship Election Tribunal has dismissed the petition of the Action Alliance (AA) against Gov. Seyi Makinde of PDP.

The Court sitting at Iyaganku, Ibadan, on Friday, also awarded N600,000 against the petitioner, AA governorship candidate, Babatunde Ajala.

Ajala had prayed the tribunal to order a re-run of the state governorship election, in which INEC had declared Makinde as the winner.

The NewsZenith reports that in the result declared by INEC, Makinde polled 563,617 to defeat Senator Teslim Folarin of APC.

Folarin got 251,230 votes while Chief Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord came a distant third with 38,757 votes.

Justice Ejiron Emudainohwo, supported by Justices Baraka Wali, and I.S. Galadima, read the unanimous ruling.

Emudainohwo awarded N100,000 cost in favour of INEC and N250,000 each in favour of the ruling PDP and Gov. Makinde.

INEC had asked for a cost of N300,000, while counsel to Makinde demanded for N5 million.

Read Related News:

APC hires 12 SANs for election tribunal

CJN warns against acts of recklessness of judges

Oyo SDP governorship candidate steps down for Makinde

Also, PDP demanded for a cost of N3 million.

But the petitioner’s counsel, Mr Etibo Orowo, pleaded for forgiveness from senior legal counsel and the panel.

The Tribunal chairman told Orowo to guard his choice of words in future when he wants to withdraw an application.

She said Ajala’s petition was unsustainable, having reviewed the ground upon which it was brought.

Emudainohwo advised the petitioner to find a way to save the ego of his client.

Etibo had told the Tribunal that he wanted to withdraw his client’s petition and discontinue the case.

He tendered his apology to the tribunal and senior counsels.


Do you have a flair for Citizenship Journalism? Share story(ies) of happenings in your area with The NewsZenith on WhatsApp: 08033668669 or

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *