Tinubu is President-elect – INEC
National Politics

Tinubu is President-elect – INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), in the early hours of Wednesday, declared the All Progressives Congress presidential candidate, Bola Tinubu, as the president-elect.

INEC declared Tinubu president-elect after he polled 8,794,726 votes to win the 2023 presidential election, ahead of 17 other candidates.

The INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, announced Tinubu as the winner at the International Collation Centre in Abuja.

Tinubu, a two-term Lagos State governor, won the election ahead of three other major contenders: Atiku Abubakar of PDP; Peter Obi of LP: and Rabiu Kwankwaso of the NNPP.

The APC candidate polled 8,794,726 votes to defeat PDP that polled 6,983,520 votes, LP with 6,101,533 votes and NNPP with 1,496,687 votes.

While APC, PDP and LP won in 12 states each, NNPP claimed only Kano State.

Tinubu edged Atiku, a former vice-president and his closest challenger, with no fewer than 1.8 million votes.

Eighteen presidential candidates contested the election held across the 36 states of the federation and the FCT on Saturday.

Read Related News:

Tinubu files suit to prevent stopping results collation

FG cautions Obasanjo not to truncate electoral process

Tinubu to Lagosians: Be calm, peaceful

INEC officials postponed the election till Sunday in some polling units in different states.

The postponement was due to violence, logistical problems, theft of BVAS and other issues.

After collation at state INEC collation centres, the results were presented by state collation officers for the presidential election (SCOPs) before the INEC chairman at the National Collation Centre in Abuja.

This is the first time that Tinubu contested for the nation’s top job and win the 2023 presidential election.

Tinubu won the election in Benue, Borno, Jigawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Oyo, Kogi, Kwara,  Rivers and Zamfara states.

Atiku won in Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Gombe, Taraba, Osun, Kaduna, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto and Yobe states.

Obi won in Abia, Anambra, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Enugu, FCT, Imo, Lagos, Plateau and Nasarawa.



Do you have a flair for Citizenship Journalism? Share story(ies) of happenings in your area with The NewsZenith on WhatsApp: 08033668669 or thenewszenith@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *