Gbajabiamila wins own constituency in Lagos

Gbajabiamila wins own constituency in Lagos

Mr Femi Gbajabiamila of the APC has emerged winner of the Surulere-1 Federal Constituency election held on Saturday.

Prof. Virgy Oneyene, the INEC Returning Officer for the House of Representatives election in the constituency, declared the results in Surulere at 6.04 p.m on Sunday.

According to her, Gbajabiamila polled 19,717 votes to beat his closest rival, Bolaji Jeje of PDP who scored 5,121 votes.

The returning officer said Mr Mathew Idowu of the SDP had 838 votes while Mrs Benedicta Uba of Zenith Labour Party polled 660 votes.

Read Related News:

Elections: Disable man, pregnant women enthusiastic to vote

Angry youths attack journalists, voters in Ibadan

Group urges Nigerians to vote wisely

Mr Ademola Oshinaya of New Nigeria Peoples Party polled 623 votes while Lumumba Savage of Party A got 337 votes.

“At the end of voting, Femi Gbajabiamila of APC satisfied the requirements of scoring highest number of votes.

“He is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected,” Oneyene said.

The NewsZenith reports that this is the sixth time Gbajabiamila is winning elections to book a seat in the Green chamber of the National Assembly.

He is the current Speaker of the House of Representatives.



Do you have a flair for Citizenship Journalism? Share story(ies) of happenings in your area with The NewsZenith on WhatsApp: 08033668669 or

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *